Saturday, 9 June 2018

President’s Report, 2018 AGM

With the World Masters Games being held in Auckland, 2017 was always going to be a great year for Masters Swimming in NZ. The games themselves were exceptionally well run, and the swimming events in particular were well attended and exciting. For me, the highlight was witnessing Ian Gunthorp anchoring the North Shore relay and clawing back a 25m deficit to win gold with the last stroke.

Since the games, interest in Masters Swimming has been sustained – membership and participation at meets continues to be strong.
The Ashburton club once again hosted a very well organised SISCC and they are prepared to repeat the process this year. It would be great if another South Island Club could be persuaded to host an event next year.
Waitakere did an outstanding job of NISCC in Auckland. Despite losing the Friday night session to a bio-hazard, they were able to cram the entire programme into the Saturday without losing any events.

With no club offering to host a 2017 long course competition , Whakatane stepped up and ran a short course Nationals. Many thanks to Mike and the Whakatane club for doing this.

Mt Roskill also held their annual sanctioned meet.

The organisation remains in a strong financial position.
Last year our focus was on moving the membership onto the Swimming NZ database.

Our IT officer, Liz Davidson has worked very hard to make the transformation as seamless as possible. This has made online entries to our meets possible and streamlined the process for the swimmers, the host clubs and the National Body.

Very shortly we will be using the system to automate the membership renewal process.

In 2018 we will be concentrating on fully implementing the new system and further exploring the potential it offers in improved member experience and reduced administration for club secretaries.

The number of FaceBook followers is rapidly approaching 1000, and subscribers to the MasterScrawl blog has increased.
We continue to have a good relationship with Swimming NZ and once again have been invited to their annual awards ceremony to present the Masters Swimmer of the Year.

Once again I extend sincere and grateful thanks go to office bearers, Mike Bodger (National Secretary), Warren Gilbertson (Vice President), Andrew Gabites (Webmaster), Jan O’Donnell (National Recorder), Lesley Parkin (Swimming & Trophies Officer) and Liz Davidson (IT Officer).

I’m fully aware of the amount of time you all invest in NZMS and I genuinely appreciate your support.

NZMS is grateful that Jan O’Donnell has generously offered to continue in the role of National Recorder.

We are also indebted to Roger Eagles who has continued with his representation of NZMS on the FINA Masters Committee and in Aquatics NZ, which he chairs.
NZMS is very lucky to have the continued support of these dedicated and enthusiastic volunteers.

NZ Masters Swimming remains healthy largely due to the skills and hard work of these volunteers.

We desperately require more volunteers; it’s disappointing that not all regions are represented by a delegate at the AGM.
Once again, it’s been an honour to have represented you as president.

John Fisher

President 2017-2018

No comments:

Post a Comment